Antonio’s Theme

Note: I have been really busy with work the last couple of weeks and haven’t had much time to work on poems, but I have my students reading The Duchess of Malfi, and I’ve put them in groups to produce their own 10-minute versions, so I was inspired to write a theme song for us. I have an audio file, but it’s in .wav format, and I can’t figure out how to convert it. 😦

Antonio’s Theme (Oh My Duchess!)

Verse 1

She could be an angel, her voice too sweet to hush,

her face lit by candles–but wait! I must not rush!

Refrain

Oh my Duchess! My noble Duchess!

She inspires me; could she desire me too?

Verse 2

Her brothers are just evil, their plots too dark to call.

You might think she’s like them, but no! She’s not like that at all!

Refrain

Oh my Duchess! My noble Duchess!

She inspires me; could she desire me too?

[Instrumental bridge]

Verse 3

In this world of darkness, she is my only light!

Inside our enchanted circle, oh yes! Life just seems so right!

Refrain

Oh my Duchess! My noble Duchess!

She inspires me; could she desire me too?

Coda

Oh my Duchess! My noble Duchess!

She inspires me; could she desire me too?

Words and music copyright 2014

T. Allen Culpepper

Leave a Reply

