Matrimonial Sonnet

So Ryan says, “Your eyes light up my nights

and days like moons and stars in the sky.

I knew right  from the start you’re Mister Right;

your gravity holds me in your orbit, no lie.”

 

And Rob replies, “Your love warms my soul;

you raise me with your humor as yeast does bread.

It’s only when I’m with you that I’m whole;

the joy you give me’s gone right to my head.”

 

And both together: “In happiness or in times of trouble,

when we make love, even when we argue,

in health or sickness, when everything turns to rubble

or when dreams come, I love you.”

 

Surely in a just world it’s miscarriage

if these two men can’t be united in marriage.

 

Copyright 2013

T. Allen Culpepper

Leave a Reply

